Book club

Earlier this year I moved back to Lancashire where I was born. In July a friend of a friend asked me to come along to their book club.  They had read Vision in Love that month and liked the idea of discussing it with the author. Well, I wasn’t going to say no!

I’ve considered joining a book club for a while but never got round to it. I was also hesitant when friends complained about reading books they wouldn’t choose. But when they asked me to join their book club in August I thought it might be good for me to read beyond my genre.

August’s book was:

5147jj7gblThe million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and David Nicholl’s US.

New York Times bestseller

‘Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail

‘Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ SpectatorBooks of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

Book club opinions ranged from finding it funny to not being able to finish it. It wasn’t my usual kind of read but it did have its funny moments. If you’re a fan of grumpy old men then this book may be for you.

September’s book is Late Summer in the Vineyard by Jo Thomas.

Have you read it? If you haven’t you could read it in September with us. I’d love to know what you think of it.

Until then happy reading!

Liz x


 

Advertisements

About Liz Bower

Liz Bower is a contemporary romance author, Lancashire girl, & self-confessed coffee addict. She's always searching for the next HEA to read!
This entry was posted in Book club reads, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s